My marriage ended in heartbreak but something magical has happened.

A story of hope for anyone struggling to cope with the unforeseeable.

Emily Cunliffe
20 min readJul 29, 2020
Ready to share my story in July 2020 (Photo by Alice Cunliffe Photography)

“When we are no longer able to change the situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.”

Viktor E. Frankl

The beginning of the end

It was a conversation I never imagined I’d be having, and a situation I couldn’t have foreseen. As the gravity of it hit me, everything went black. I was plunged into darkness and I couldn’t see or hear anything.

I can still feel it like it was yesterday.

It felt like someone had punched me in the stomach, stamped on my heart, and punctured my lungs. I fell to my knees as my limbs turned to jelly.

My hands started to tingle, my palms sweaty, and my heart was racing a million miles an hour.

Within a matter of seconds (but what felt like a few long minutes), my back straightened, my jaw clenched tightly, and I was braced ready for the next blow. It didn’t come.

What more did I possibly think could come after the unimaginable had already happened?

I suppose it was a survival instinct, to get ready to defend against the next threat.

--

--

Emily Cunliffe

Sharing my journey to a joy-filled life, which started after the heartbreak of divorce. emilycunliffe.co.uk || emilycunliffecoaching@gmail.com